Flashback To The Dragon – A Review!

I have heard from many of my friends and family who purchased the book, saying how they loved it. Every time I hear from them, I take the comments with a grain of salt (they are family after all) and I encourage them to put a review on the site from which they purchased the book or e-book. I do it because that is what I’m told to do when I read the tips and techniques from other authors. More review equals more sales, right?

It’s exhausting. And with little or nothing to show for it. I’ve stopped asking people to post their review on Amazon.com or Barnes and Noble.com because one, it’s awkward, I can’t get over the feeling when I’m asking and two, I’m hearing from family and friends about how difficult it is to leave a review. So many have told me they think they did it and when I went out to the website to check, nothing was there.

So, I’m done asking. I still love hearing from a reader when I run into one of them or get an email. It’s fun to talk about what influenced me and how I came up with the ideas in the story.

I got an email today from a former work colleague. She and I always enjoy catching up with each other when we see each other at events. I consider her a friend whom I’ve known for quite a few years. She wrote some kind words that I feel embraces the verbal comments I’ve received. The body of her email follows:

I read your book and it was great.  You’re really talented and I don’t know how you do it.  Maybe the best compliment would be that as soon as I got in to the story (which grabbed my right away), my sub-conscious was never thinking this is really good for Terri’s first book.  It was just another great novel that I enjoyed thoroughly.  Can’t wait for the sequel and I’m going to recommend it to my daughter-in-law for her book club.  Congratulations on your first published novel!!!

Sunday, November 25, 2012 11:42 PM
Those words make all the writing and rewriting, the agony of publishing, and the fretting after it’s published about whether it’s good or not, float away in a carefree bubble and I’m left with the energy and encouragement to keep writing and to keep striving forward.
I wanted to share these thoughts with all of you. More importantly, I encourage you to keep writing, keep striving through whatever obstacle is in your path, and never give up.
One thought on “Flashback To The Dragon – A Review!

Leave a Reply

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Amsterdam Assassin Series

Suspense by Martyn V. Halm. Contact the author: katlasieltjes@yahoo.com. Twitter: @Tao_Of_Violence

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

S. Asher Sund

Field Notes (Post-Apocalypse)

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Charlie Nitric

Writing About Life's Amazing Experiences!

outlandergone

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

these fantastic worlds

An SF & Fantasy Blog by Jake Jackson: Fiction, Art, Movies & Music.

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

J. Joseph Wright

GHOST GUARD Grimm meets Twilight

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

