Move Over Reacher, There’s a New Jack in Town and His Name’s Dawson-My review of Bitter Harvest, by Michael R. Hicks

I was excited to pick up this book because I had read Season of Harvest, by Michael R. Hicks @KreelanWarrior the first in the Harvest trilogy, and it was great. The details of the characters brought the thriller to life and left me wanting more.

Bitter Harvest picks up a year after Season of Harvest ended with Jack Dawson, former FBI agent, and Naomi Perrault, Ph.D., M.D., leader in her field of genetic research, being pulled out of their safe environment, their new names and identities stripped by political forces that take over after the most recent election. That is just the beginning of a tumultuous thrill ride that sees Jack travel to India, and then Russia to fight against the horrors brought to life by the Beta Three seed samples, and brings Naomi close to the man responsible for selling the seeds to agricultural research facilities around the globe as she begins a new job with the firm, Morgan Pharmaceuticals.

Each chapter leads you to the next, introducing another struggle, another character, another part of the world. It is brilliantly done. The author is able to breathe life into characters so that you become invested. For example, in one paragraph his description and character details will have you completely rooting for the person, and in the next paragraph the character is killed or turns on others because it is genetically altered. Just rips your heart out (figuratively speaking, seriously). The battle between the good guys and the bad is a compelling global event.

As a cat lover and owner, I appreciate the furry heroes in Hicks’ trilogy. Even the newly elected President in the story commented, “I’ve always been a dog person, but when I came down here for this meeting I was greeted by half a dozen cats and a brace of Secret Service people wearing thermal imagers.” Cheers to the feline!

I don’t want to get too far into the story and accidentally ruin it for anyone; but just know that when I was reading it I told a friend who is not connected to the internet and does not have a nook or kindle that, “Mark my words, you will hear the name of Michael R. Hicks either through his books, a television series based on his stories, or a major motion picture – somehow you will hear of him.” (I’m buying her a Nook for Christmas.)

His writing style rivals some of my favorite authors; and he has not only been an inspiration to me in pursuing my dream of writing, but the carrot on a stick of how high or how far I need to go. This series could make it to the big screen; I started casting in my head as I was reading.

I encourage you to buy this book, Bitter Harvest. I think you also need to find the first segment, Season of Harvest. It would make an enjoyable weekend of reading. To say I’m looking forward to Reaping The Harvest, the third and last (alas) book in the trilogy, is putting it mildly. Instead I will say to Michael, “Please do not do anything else except write – no more chores, no extra-curricular activity – you can eat and run because that will help with the creative juices, but please hurry!”

Leave a Reply

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Amsterdam Assassin Series

Suspense by Martyn V. Halm. Contact the author: katlasieltjes@yahoo.com. Twitter: @Tao_Of_Violence

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

S. Asher Sund

Field Notes (Post-Apocalypse)

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Charlie Nitric

Writing About Life's Amazing Experiences!

outlandergone

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

these fantastic worlds

An SF & Fantasy Blog by Jake Jackson: Fiction, Art, Movies & Music.

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

J. Joseph Wright

GHOST GUARD Grimm meets Twilight

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

