Books were this wonderful escape for me because I could open a book and disappear into it, and that was the only way out of that house when I was a kid. Dean Koontz

I write. I say on my Twitter profile that I’m an aspiring writer, therefore I am a writer. I have completed one book that is now going through the pains of editing (as I’ve mentioned ad nauseam), and another book nearing the point where I send it off to the editors for them to voice their opinions on timing and consistency. I will soon be a published writer. Will I be a well-read writer? Time will tell.

It was fun to create this imaginary world where the bad guy has a past to reveal and where the good guys are, well, good people with differences, and their own fears, insecurities, and problems. When immersed in that world, the real one ceases to exist.

I would love to be in the room when Dean Koontz creates. Does he talk to himself? Frown, a lot? Does he pace, or sit quietly typing on his computer. Better than being in the room with him, I’d love to be inside his brain. Ok, that sounded weirder than I wanted it to, but imagination is a wonderful thing and he breathes so much life into his characters that it would be thrilling to see the journey from his perspective.

I’m stalling because, after writing two stories, and sketching ideas for a third and fourth, I have a confession to make. I’m a terrible blogger.

When I get close to Friday (my designated day for entering a new blog) my mind goes blank. I can’t put two thoughts or sentences together to put into a blog post. I’ve read all the tips of being a writer and they say to blog and to blog on a regular schedule. So, I’m late, but I’m going to blog about a book that I just finished reading. It is Zachary Pill: Against the Troll, by Tim Greaton.

This was the third book in a trilogy about a boy wizard. The series does not start out with him being a boy wizard, rather he is a teenager with all the usual angst, plus green hair. The Zachary Pill series is a heart-warming, action-packed, thrill ride that is very well written by Mr. Greaton. Along the way, Zachary grows up, finds friends, finds inner strength, and finds magic, all while fighting ogres, trolls, werewolves, bats and flying snakes. It was fun to be along with him on his journey to discover the beauty in magic, as well as the sometimes frightening consequences. Perhaps it would be fun to be inside Mr. Greaton’s head as he creates.

I’m going to crawl back into my own head now and finish this blog.

Leave a Reply

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Amsterdam Assassin Series

Suspense by Martyn V. Halm. Contact the author: katlasieltjes@yahoo.com. Twitter: @Tao_Of_Violence

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

S. Asher Sund

Field Notes (Post-Apocalypse)

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Charlie Nitric

Writing About Life's Amazing Experiences!

outlandergone

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

these fantastic worlds

An SF & Fantasy Blog by Jake Jackson: Fiction, Art, Movies & Music.

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

J. Joseph Wright

GHOST GUARD Grimm meets Twilight

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

