I am the literary equivalent of a Big Mac and Fries – Stephen King

My personal favorite item to order is a cheeseburger, but that’s just me.

I saw this quote and it made me smile as I sit sweating through the editing of Flashback to the Dragon, the first in a series of four murder mysteries with a twist. 

My editor suggested I take out some of the humor in my story because it was written into a scene where it might be viewed as inappropriate. The humor was not slanderous, or derogatory, or aimed at anyone real or fictional. The sarcastic comments were some that the main character mumbled about himself. I couldn’t take it out. Its me and taking it out would not be me.

So, while I appreciated some of the other comments I received and agree that I need help with literary rules (I was pleasantly surprised that my story didn’t bleed out during the edit), I did not agree to take out my humorous asides.

The beauty of self-publishing, or semi-self-publishing (are there too many hyphens here?), is that I can leave the comments in and keep moving forward.

My favorite author, Dean Koontz, injects his stories with humor and it brings me closer to the characters and more vested in whether or not they survive whatever horrors he’s laid out before them. Dean is the kind of guy that would be fun to sit down with over a glass of wine or bottle of beer and exchange anecdotes and stories. What a great way to spend an evening!

I’m looking forward to getting my hands on his latest in the Odd Thomas series, Odd Apocalypse. Talk about humor and funny asides!

I will continue editing; my goal is to have the edited version back to the publishing agency by Monday, while keeping my personality intact. Oh, and I’ll have fries with that.

Leave a Reply

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Amsterdam Assassin Series

Suspense by Martyn V. Halm. Contact the author: katlasieltjes@yahoo.com. Twitter: @Tao_Of_Violence

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

S. Asher Sund

Field Notes (Post-Apocalypse)

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Charlie Nitric

Writing About Life's Amazing Experiences!

outlandergone

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

these fantastic worlds

An SF & Fantasy Blog by Jake Jackson: Fiction, Art, Movies & Music.

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

J. Joseph Wright

GHOST GUARD Grimm meets Twilight

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

