Writing, I think, is not apart from living. Writing is a kind of double living. The writer experiences everything twice. Once in reality and once in that mirror which waits always before or behind. ~Catherine Drinker Bowen, Atlantic, December 1957

I’ve been asked many times why I write, or what it was that turned me to writing, or have I always wanted to write. I think for me it was almost a subconscious act. When I was younger, I wrote short stories and kept them in a 3-ring binder for a while until I became bored and threw out the stories to replace them with pictures of Leonard Nimoy, Roman Gabriel, Christopher George, or The Monkees – just a few of my childhood crushes. I switched my diary from being a documentary of my life to fantasy stories. It seemed more interesting to put down in words the contents of my daydreams than the everyday events of my life.

I wrote my first fanfiction after watching a series called Torchwood, a British television show created by Russell T. Davies. The fanfiction was based on the characters of the series and, like so many fanfiction artists, all creative rights are acknowledged to be those of RTD. He is brilliant, after all. I was simply using the characters and their affectations in a 4-part series that brought back one of the characters that died in the third season. I had fun writing the story, and published it on a website that houses fanfiction for Torchwood, as well as it’s parent series, Doctor Who, and received positive feedback from those who read it.

My husband said to me, you should write your own story. It took me two years to get to that point. First I had to decide what kind of story I wanted to write. I decided it needed to be a story that I would want to read. Then I needed to know how to get started, so I researched creative writing, self-publishing, and writing tools and techniques. I got the idea for a 4-part series, called the Flashback Series, and began writing in August of 2010. I finished the first novel by August of the following year, and wrote the second one in the month of November 2011 as part of the writing challenge hosted by the National Novel Writing Month organization. Both stories almost wrote themselves; by that I mean that once I started writing, I fell in love with the story idea and with the characters, and the stories easily came to me. Ideas for book 3 and 4 are swirling around in my head and I’ve jotted down scenes on scraps of paper and in my writing journal in anticipation of turning my attention to the next story. But I want to publish book 1 first. That is where we are today.

So, this is my answer to the question of did I always want to write. I think, yes, I did. And today I wish I had those short stories that I wrote so long ago. They may have been turned into a great novel, or at least been an enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Amsterdam Assassin Series

Suspense by Martyn V. Halm. Contact the author: katlasieltjes@yahoo.com. Twitter: @Tao_Of_Violence

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Erotica Everywhere

Life should be fun & fun should be everywhere!!

S. Asher Sund

Field Notes (Post-Apocalypse)

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Charlie Nitric

Writing About Life's Amazing Experiences!

outlandergone

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

these fantastic worlds

An SF & Fantasy Blog by Jake Jackson: Fiction, Art, Movies & Music.

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

J. Joseph Wright

GHOST GUARD Grimm meets Twilight

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

